Traffic deptt frames route plan to Hazratbal shrine

To ensure smooth regulation of traffic during celebrations of Eid-i-Milad-un-Nabi (SAW), the city traffic police have issued a route plan for devotees who intend to visit Dargah Hazratbal here.

The department has appealed devotees to adopt the plan and park their vehicles only at designated places at and around the shrine to ensure hassle free movement.

Thousands of devotees are expected to throng shines and Masjids on Eid-e-Milad-un-Nabi (SAW) which falls on 21 November. The biggest congregation is expected at Dargah Hazratbal where devotees will have glimpse of holy relic of Prophet Muhammad (SAW).

Devotees also observe night long prayers at various shrines and Masjids in Srinagar and other places across the state preceding night of the Milad.

As per the plan issued by senior superintendent of police, traffic (city) Al Tahir Geelani, the vehicles carrying devotees from north Kashmir after reaching Shaltang shall adopt the route of Parimpora-Bemina bypass-Bemina crossing-Qamarwari-cement bridge-Noorbagh-Sekidafar-Eidgah-Ali Masjid-Hawal-Alamgari Bazar-Mill Stop-Molvi Stop (Lal Bazaar)-Botshah Mohallah -Kanitar-university parking from Sir Syed Gate route to reach Hazratbal shrine.


The vehicles carrying devotees from south Kashmir, after reaching Pantha Chowk, shall adopt Athawajan-Batwara-Sonwar Bazar-Ram Munshi Bagh-Gupkar-Nishat-Foreshore Road-Habbak Crossing to reach the shrine.

Similarly, vehicles carrying devotees from central Kashmir’s Budgam and its adjoining areas shall adopt Hyderpora-Tangpora-Bemina Byass-Bemina Crossing-Qamarwari-Noorbagh-Sekidafar-Eidgah-Alimasjid-Sazgaripora-Hawal-Alamgari Bazar-Mill Stop-Molvi Stop-Botshah Mohallah-Kanitar and NIT route.

The vehicles coming from Ganderbal shall take Nagbal-Zakoora-Naseembagh route. The traffic police have also asked devotees to stick to route plan on their return to avoid any inconvenience.

On return from Hazratbal shrine, south Kashmir-bound vehicles shall take Naseembagh Parking-Habbak Crossing-Foreshore Road-Nishat -Zethiyar Ghat-Gupkar-Ram Munshibagh-Sonwar Bazar-Pantha Chowk route.

The Budgam-bound vehicles shall take NIT-Aishahibagh Crossing-Nowpora-Dal Gate-Radio Kashmir-Abdullah Bridge-Convent Crossing-Rajbagh-Rambagh-Barzullah Bridge-Sadder-Hyderpora route.

SSP traffic city Al Tahir Geelani said elaborate parking arrangements have been made at available locations around the Hazratbal Shrine.

“North Kashmir bound vehicles are appealed to park cars inside University campus near Sir Syed Gate side. For south Kashmir bound vehicles parking shall be inside Naseem Bagh University campus through Budshah gate from Habbak,” he said.

He added that for central Kashmir bound vehicles, parking shall be inside National Institute of Technology (NIT) Campus Hazratbal. “General public is requested to follow the route plan and park their vehicles only at the designated parking places,” he said.

Comments are closed.