Sehrai takes oath as Tehreek-e-Hurriyat chief

Srinagar: Muhammad Ashraf Sehrai on Sunday was elected by majority votes to be the chairman of the Tehrek-e-Hurriyat for next three years.

Sehrai bagged 410 out of 433 total votes cast during the elections held at the Srinagar office last week. Nearly 100 party member were in attendance when the votes were counted today.

Earlier, Sehrai was nominated as its chairman by his leader Syed Ali Geelani who held the position for more than thirteen years.

Geelani could not attend the function due to his bad health. He was scheduled to administer oath to Sehrai which was later done by a party senior leader.





Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.