WhatsApp’s Delete for Everyone feature is finally here and here’s how it works

After a very long wait, WhatsApp’s recall feature aka Delete for Everyone is finally here. WaBetaInfo, the fan site for WhatsApp, has announced that the chat app is finally rolling out the feature to Android, iOS and Windows phone users.

Starting today, iOS, Android and Windows phone users can recall the wrongly sent messages or messages that are mistakenly sent to the other chats. WaBetaInfo notes that the roll out is slow and both the recipient and sender should be on the same updated version of WhatsApp to get the feature working. The feature works for GIFs, texts, images, voice messages, locations, stickers (in future), contact cards, quoted messages and status replies.

How does the Delete for Everyone works?

When you revoke a message, WhatsApp sends a fake copy of the message to the receiver. When the recipient receives that false copy, his phone won’t show you the notification and it won’t save it in his chat history. However,  it will check if there is the ID of the message in the database: on the off chance that it will discover the message, the message will be recalled.

The Delete for Everyone feature doesn’t work for…

— Message contained in a quoted message cannot be revoked. 

— It’s not possible to delete for everyone messages sent in a Broadcast List.

— Messages can be recalled only within a 7 minutes of time frame after which you cannot recall or revoke it.

— The feature works only if both sender and receiver are using the updated version of WhatsApp.  WhatsApp will enable the delete for everyone feature working for older versions too, but obviously not for  very old version where Delete for Everyone hasn’t been implemented yet. — The feature does not work for Symbian OS.

The feature is a slow roll out. You may receive the activation message any time but in case you don’t then uninstall and reinstall the app. You can also go to WhatsApp’s  Setting> Chats>Backup and perform it.

INDIA today